Summer fun at the Library

I salute our wonderful libraries. The local libraries are always creating new ways to interest kids in reading. Reading can take you places real and imagined. Reading can ignite and inspire.

library event 1 035

Rod and I enjoyed singing and reading our stories at the libraries this summer and taking part in getting children excited about music and showing them some golf adventures.

Reading can change the way you think about your life. When I was young I lived on a goat farm and my sister read Heidi to me. You know the one about a little girl living with goats on a mountainside. What a wonderful story.

The libraries have a theme every summer. A couple years ago the theme was Pause to Read and they had a poster of a puppy reading through a stack of books. Too cute. I enjoyed reading my animal series I had been working on at the time. Well since its a series I guess you could say I am still working on this with my co-author Everett Martindale. I told him The Animals Used By God series would never be finished. There were so many bible stories and animals that I supposed we could just write from now on. That year I traveled to read at the Amador County Library in Pioneer California.

I read my Military mommy book when I read to Sgt Yano Library program at Schofield Army barracks when my daughter was stationed in Oahu. The children and I marched and saluted as I read the pages.

I always like to sing a few songs too. In fact I get asked to sing at the libraries as much as read these days. Libraries are just fun places to go to anytime of the year, but they really work overtime during the summer.

 

 

This year the theme was based all about Sports. Perfect to read Rod’s adventures on golf books. Rod brought his golf club, golf balls, and let the kids try it out first hand. He read his story and sang a couple song with his guitar and the kids loved it. we went to the Children’s Library downtown Little Rock. Maumelle Library. and Nixon Library in  Jacksonville so far this month.

 

rod golf books 9

Its fun to do a Hawaiian program for the kids. Show a bit of hula and tell them about whale watching, and sea turtles. I let them play my ukulele, rain stick and bamboo sticks,  and of course they want to see pictures of the volcano.

 

Hawaii 2014 515

I use to take my children to the library all the time when they were little. They would sit on the floor and look at pictures. They would read some and took great care in each picking out books to bring home. And they were Free books too, what a plus. How can you beat that?  My kids read a lot of books and they all did well in school. I think it really helped to have joined in on fun programs and reading challenges at the library. I just love the library. A great way to spend the summer. So just wanted to say Thank you.

my books can also be found on Amazon …

http://www.amazon.com/Carol-Dabney/e/B0056B1AFW

 

Leave a Reply

