Singing at Nursing Homes, a great generation part 2, Jan-April 2016

Singing at nursing homes and for assisted living residents is so rewarding. They seem to appreciate the music we share from the oldies, country, patriotic, gospel, soft rock, Disney, Hawaiian, and folk. We take pictures of where we have been but do not take pictures of the their faces, however it is their faces that touch my heart when we sing a song and I see them go from sitting half asleep in their wheel chairs to their eyes lighting up and begin to clap and sing along. There is something wonderful in those faces when they start to remember through a song. It makes me wonder what kind of life did they have? What war, what work, what love, what families they had? My father had Alzheimer’s and forgot so much, but when I sang a song he remembered he could sing every word. Those songs would lite up in his eyes and he would say, “You made my day” so I found music reaches a part of our heart, music goes to the soul like nothing else can. It’s amazing and God has blessed me with the passion of music. I teach music to children at school during the mornings and the afternoons I sing at nursing homes. It is my gift, so I sing.

Rod Ragsdale and Carol Dabney

Rod Ragsdale and Carol Dabney play music for the very young and the very old.

January at Elmcroft in Maumelle Arkansas with our one small speaker and one microphone we shared.

Jan 2016 085 Jan 2016 088

snow and nursing home humor

Jan 2016 132

Early January 024

in a bigger room at Elmcroft a few weeks later with a bigger speaker and two microphones.

Jan 2016 123

 

Jan 2016 130

Elmcroft asked if we would twice a month. Rod likes to tell a joke or two …sometimes he is funny!

Jan 2016 171

in February we went to Lakewood Nursing Homer in North Little Rock  for their Valentines Program

Jan 2016 144  Jan 2016 145

Mardi Gras program at Pleasant Valley Nursing Home

Jan 2016 253  Jan 2016 248

we sang Oh When the Saints Go Marching In, Mardi Gras Time, and Proud Mary

Jan 2016 242 Jan 2016 243

oh below is my son Josh… he plays the ukulele too. I lived in Hawaii for 15 years and all my children are musical and we would often play music as a family at the nursing homes on the Islands. This is Joshua’s senior photo. He attends UCA now.

Feb 2016 111

March and the St Patrick’s program at Lakewood… I love that they have the same white tree up for Christmas, then change to hearts for Valentines and then add the green hats for St Patrick’s celebration.

March artwork 020

Emcroft

March artwork 059 March artwork 050

In March and April we also went to Valley Ranch, Stonehaven, Brairwood and Andovere nursing homes in Little Rock.

March artwork 147 March art 2016 048

Got hula… got Hawaiian luau music

April Art 075 April Art 069

Love to sing patriotic programs… Rod and my dad were in the Navy…my sister is a retired Air Force Lt Col. and my daughter is a Army captain.

April Art 238

in April there was more Hawaiian fun. Looking forward to more. We are working on recording a album of our own music for a summer time release 2016 Nothing Better Than You… of songs we have composed.

other music available at Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Just-My-Imagination-Carol-Dabney/dp/B00004RI81/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1461411794&sr=8-1&keywords=Carol+Dabney+music+Just+My+Imagination

 

Leave a Reply

